English | 简体中文 | 繁體中文 | 한국어 | 日本語
Wednesday, 8 December 2010, 13:00 HKT/SGT

Source: Singapore International Water Week (SIWW)
Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2011 Receives Record Number of Nominations

SINGAPORE, Dec 8, 2010 - (ACN Newswire) - The Singapore International Water Week today announced that a record number of nominations have been received for the coveted Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2011. A total of 72 nominations were submitted this year, a 38 percent increase from the year before. The leap in entries is the largest since the award was inaugurated in 2008 and it is a testament to the growing stature of the award that recognises outstanding contributions to solving water challenges around the world.

Recognising Achievements in Global Water Solutions

Launched in 2008 to honour outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world's water problems by applying innovative technologies or implementing policies and programmes which benefit humanity, the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is the highlight of the Singapore International Week held annually in Singapore. The award is named after the founding father of modern Singapore, who is the first Prime Minister and presently Minister Mentor. A total of 72 nominations were received this year, far exceeding past years' numbers and the award has also garnered attention across all continents. Entries were received for the very first time from Tunisia, Egypt and Austria.

"We are very heartened by the increase in nominations as it is a reflection of the importance and momentum the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is gaining on the world stage. This year's nominees, while diverse geographically, are all high quality submissions which have achieved significant impact in their real life application," said Michael Toh, Managing Director for the Singapore International Water Week.

Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2011 closed on 31 Oct 2010. Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize covered a wide range of solutions including application of innovative technologies for water and used water collection and treatment as well as water recycling, implementation of revolutionary water policies and programmes, management of agriculture waters and rainwater, as well as the administration of humanitarian aid. The nominations also include several exceptional research projects conducted in the fields of limnology, microbial pathogens, novel desalination and membrane processes. All nominees showed a strong understanding of the ever-evolving needs for today's urban environment and presented sustainable solutions to combat these challenges.

Past Award Recipients

The inaugural Water Prize in 2008 was awarded to Dr Andrew Benedek for his outstanding work in pioneering the development of low-pressure membranes in water treatment. Dr Benedek has redefined the way water can be treated and shown how drinking water can be produced from different water sources, even those that are highly polluted. It is a big leap that benefits mankind, for those in both developed and developing countries.

Professor Gatze Lettinga was awarded the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2009 for his breakthrough, environmentally sustainable solution for the treatment of used water using anaerobic technology. His revolutionary treatment concept enables industrial used water to be purified cost-effectively, and produces renewable energy, fertilisers and soil conditioners.

The recipient of the 2010 award was the Yellow River Conservancy Commission (YRCC), honoured for its outstanding accomplishments in integrated river basin management. YRCC's innovative policies and solutions have brought about widespread and sustainable social, economic and environmental benefits.

Winner Announcement for 2011 Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize

Nominations for the 2011 Water Prize will undergo two rounds of rigorous selection and the winner will be decided by the prize council comprising individuals of high international standing from academia, multi-national corporations and government bodies. The recipient of the 2011 award will be announced in March 2011 and the winner will be honoured at a ceremony held at the Singapore International Water Week in July. The recipient will receive S$300,000, as well as an award certificate and a gold medallion in recognition of its contributions to the water industry. The Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize is sponsored by the Singapore Millennium Foundation (SMF).

Koh Wei Ling
Hill & Knowlton
Singapore International Water Week 2011
Tel: +65 6390 3363
Email: weiling.koh@hillandknowlton.com.sg

Quek Ai Choo
Singapore International Water Week
Tel: +65 6731 3293
Email: quek_ai_choo@pub.gov.sg

Topic: Awards
Source: Singapore International Water Week (SIWW)

Sectors: Water, Environment, ESG
From the Asia Corporate News Network

Copyright © 2024 ACN Newswire. All rights reserved. A division of Asia Corporate News Network.


Singapore International Water Week (SIWW) Related News
Aug 5, 2015 14:00 HKT/SGT
SIWW Water Convention 2016: Call for Submission of Papers
June 22, 2015 17:00 HKT/SGT
Singapore Leads the Way in Charting Future Research Directions for Water Solutions
June 9, 2014 11:00 HKT/SGT
Collaborations Reinforce Singapore International Water Week as Premier Global Platform to Share and Co-create Solutions
June 2, 2014 10:00 HKT/SGT
Singapore International Water Week taps on Social Media to Support World Water Cause
June 1, 2014 23:45 HKT/SGT
Singapore to Host Largest Gathering of Leaders for Integrated Sustainable Development
More news >>
Copyright © 2024 ACN Newswire - Asia Corporate News Network
Home | About us | Services | Partners | Events | Login | Contact us | Cookies Policy | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | RSS
US: +1 214 890 4418 | China: +86 181 2376 3721 | Hong Kong: +852 8192 4922 | Singapore: +65 6549 7068 | Tokyo: +81 3 6859 8575